The People You Meet

Sunday is my laundry day. Ugh! I lug way too many loads (of a family of seven) to the laundromat; hot and sweaty. I try to read a book but sometimes the sweat from my brow blinds me. The owner tries to save money by keeping the air at 80 or off and the doors propped open and filling the place with the heat and humidity from outside plus the heat from the dryers making it like a desert land; much like the home of the owner Ahmed.

This Sunday I had forgotten my book and the humidity was so bad that I was soaked in sweat before I arrived… no a/c in my car. I got my clothes in the washers and sat down at the table to guzzle my jug of sweet tea. There were two girls sitting at the table playing with a popper and doing their best to catch it before it hit me. The more outgoing one started talking to me. She apologized for getting the poppers so close. I told her it was fine; I have boys. She told me she was half boy and girl… “I mean a tomboy.” I told her I was a tomboy too. She was spirited and quite funny. I knew for sure they were sisters and pretty damn sure they were twins. I asked.

“Are you all twins? Fraternal twins?”

“Yea! How did you know?”

“I am a fraternal twin. My twin is Shawna and I am Lonna.”

“Shawna and Lonna; that rhymes! I am Makayla and this is Mackenzie.”

“Nice names.”

They then asked me to sing a song for them. I laughed and told them that I do not know how to sing; telling them I sounded like a dying cow. They continued to beg me to and it was hard to refuse these two that made me think so much of my twin and myself. They suggested songs to sing; none of which I knew. Finally I agreed to sing a song that I have sung to my kids for years. You Are My Sunshine.

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are grey
You never know, dear, how much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away

The other night, dear, as I lay sleeping
I dreamt I held you in my arms
When I awoke, dear, I was mistaken
So I hung my head, and I cried

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are grey
You never know, dear, how much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away

I’ll always love you and make you happy
If you will only say the same
But if you leave me to love another,
You’ll regret it all one day

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are grey
You never know, dear, how much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away

Please don’t take my sunshine away.

They had listened to me with smiles, but I could tell they were not use to Bluegrass music. As soon as I finished, Makayla quickly told me that I did not sound like a dying cow… more like a dying goat. I admired her spunk and honesty. They then told me that they were in chorus and sang for me two songs: Dancing In The Streets and Fireworks. I clapped for their talented singing and we talked a bit more until a very unusual lady came to sit at the table. She talked in a very low and monotonous voice as if her face would break if she animated her face or opened her mouth more than the slit she allowed. The girls obviously felt as uncomfortable as I did and went to find their mom. I went and put my clothes in the dryer.

I walked over to their mom once my clothes were drying and asked if she minded me giving her daughters some dollars for their singing. She was quick to say that I need not do that. I explained to her that my Papaw use to pay me and my twin for singing songs to him and would love to pass it on to her girls. She smiled and said that it was fine. I scanned the laundromat and found them talking to the lady working her shift at the laundromat. I walked up to them and handed them each two dollars (made up for inflation from the quarters we would get). They first refused and I told them that I asked their mom and she said it was ok, but to please confirm it with her. They did and came back to say thanks.

2 thoughts on “The People You Meet

  1. Hi Lonna jo,
    I’m a recent Bowen B&B guest and I wrote something for Joe to post on his blog. He hasn’t responded (email date May 12), so I wondered if I should send it on to you since he implied that you were his blog manager. Let me know, thanks!

Leave a Reply

