Cultural Passes For Area Youth

I am so excited about this!!! As a mother of five, living on the poverty line, I always feel like I cannot give my children opportunities to learn like others. I see other people that I know that can take their kids to Bernheim Arboretum for the day, The Science Center, to plays, to the Zoo… etc. (There are a lot of cool things to do in Louisville, especially for kids). I fear my kids being behind everyone because they do not have the opportunity to explore the world beyond our backyard or the local park and I know it is hard for them to hear everyone’s stories of what they got to do over the summer: the vacations, the day trips, etc.

I am so thankful to our city’s Mayor Greg Fischer for implementing this idea from the Louisville Vision Initiative where residents let the Mayor know what they wanted our city to look and feel like over the next few decades. Professor Nat Irvine and his team of creative thinkers from U of L are the ones that suggested the cultural passes. I thank them too for offering this great idea.

So what is the cultural pass? It is a pass that kids (0 through college) can pick up at any Louisville Free Public Library location June 9th through August 13. This pass will get one child (and a parent/guardian if child is under 16) into Kentucky Museum of Arts and Crafts, Kentucky Derby Museum, American Printing House for the Blind Museum, Bernheim Arboretu,; Carnegie Center for Art & History, Crane House – Asia Institute, Filson Historical Society, Historic Locust Grove, Kentucky Shakespeare theater, Louisville Youth Choir concerts, Stage One Family Theatre and Yew Dell Gardens. The Mayor is hopeful that more will join the list.

An added bonus is that if kids get their passes stamped eight places they will be entered to win a Grand Prize drawing of a family package of tickets to the Lion King Broadway musical, coming March 2015. There will be another drawing for Louisville Bats Baseball tickets too.

I am so proud of my city of Louisville and our Mayor Greg Fischer for this chance to let my children explore the world.

Leave a Reply

