Fed Up

So there is a Fed Up documentary out exposing the lies of food and exercise from the past 30 years. It is hosted by Katie Couric, produced by Laurie David of An Inconvenient Truth and directed by Stephanie Soechtig. Fortunately for me it will be filming at one of our hipster theaters for $5 a ticket. Along with the film is a Fed Up challenge; to give up sugar for 10 days. Of course, I am on it. I had to switch out my coffee at Highlands from my triple Swiss mocha espresso with bourbon whipped cream (loaded with sugar) to my Colombian/Cacao blend sweetened with honey. It tastes delicious. The difficult part is when you look in your cabinets and see how much sugar is in every day items. I thought I was doing good because I had natural peanut butter in my cabinet from WalMart. Now, I am no dummy, I know “natural” does not mean shit. However, It was the generic brand and I had bought the generic brand from Kroger and checked it and had no sugar… my mistake is that I had forgotten I bought my last jar from Kroger and not WalMart… whose generic brand has added sugar. Even some canned veggies have added sugar… if that does not show you how much they want to make us an addicted nation, not sure what will. You can find out more about the film, where it is showing and about the challenge at www.fedupmovie.com. You can find them on Facebook and Twitter. Below is part of their media kit with some useful information.

 

 

Leave a Reply

