The Pallet Garden

I am so stoked! I have found a source for pallets from a local African store. The owner said he did not get many a week, but that I could have what he gets. I am wanting to start a garden and want to do a grid style with pallets. In this way it will be raised, organized and low maintenance with little weeding. I have been looking at all my options and really feel this is the best for me.

I first saw the awesome grid style on viralnova; a man transformed his front yard into a garden of fruit, vegetables, herbs and flowers. I will not be doing this in my front yard as I do not want my kids playing close to the busy street. I have plenty of room in the back. I like the pallet option as it allows me to move if I am so fortunate to do so.

My intention is to continue the pallet theme and create a beehive, chicken coop and greenhouse. I want to be able to feed my family and a few more in the process. Pallets are a great way to build as they have a sturdy structure as is and can be taken apart and the wood used in other designs. Not only are they sturdy, but they are free most times (because store owners have to pay to have them removed usually) and it is a great way to recycle.

Click here to go back to the top

 

2 thoughts on “The Pallet Garden

Leave a Reply

