The Moon Of Ramadan

This Ramadan, I intended to photograph the moon every night… well thanks to our lovely indecisive Kentucky weather we had a lot of cloudy nights… and then yesterday my battery charger for my camera went on the fritz and missed a great spectacle of the moon, alhamdu Lillah a girl i know captured it for me. This is what I have accumulated for the first half of Ramadan and hope to capture more.

I do not know what it is about the moon that makes it so comforting, but when I see it, I feel all is right in the world. Yes, we have a lot of horrendous things going on with war, terrorism of every variety, slavery, sex trafficking… but somehow the moon gives the message that God is in fact in charge, we just have to trust our creator.

Rumi’s poem says what I feel about the moon:

“At night, I open the window
and ask the moon to come
and press its face against mine.
Breathe into me.
Close the language-door
and open the love-window.
The moon won’t use the door,
only the window.”

This last photo was taken by  Rayanah Atiyani @ https://www.facebook.com/RayhanahAtiyaniPhotography?ref=br_tf

 

Leave a Reply

