Opening A Can Of Worms

So, I saw this photo on Huffington Post article talking about an art exhibit called “She Who Tells A Story” showcasing photos by women of Arab and Persian descent. If you click on the photo, you can visit that article.

I posted the photo on my fb and captioned it with “I absolutely love this photo!!!” My reasoning was that to me it is speaking about how throughout the world, women are forced, obliged and guilted into wearing the all black and covering themselves head to toe. The men of these cultures say it is to protect them, but the truth is that they are trying to silence women.

To my delight, this photo sparked some debate…from non hijabis, to niqabis with the rest falling somewhere in the middle. Some were offended by the photo and others saw it different than I did. As one woman said, she saw it as the “progress of women”, but from the Arabic view of right to left.

Either way, we woman have a right to our opinions and voices. We have the right to choose our clothing and should not be pressured to dress according to others culture, others interpretation of Quran, nor what our husbands desire. Eeman (faith) is a personal relationship with God and against what some may think, there is no middle man. When I pray, I pray directly to God, when I ask forgiveness and mercy, I ask directly from God…I have one God and it is not a man.

So, what do you think of this photo? What do you think the message is? Are you offended by it?

slide_308727_2703042_free

4 thoughts on “Opening A Can Of Worms

  1. I Love this photo ! Not because of the reason you loved….because of the opposite reason ! We should just know If we follow Islam, we have to follow each and everything Allah said…..So why shouldn’t we wear hijaab ? We should Pray, we should speak truth then why shouldn’t we cover ourselves ?
    But I really think women should opt hijab for themselves….not because of their men forcing them !!

  2. Assalamu Alaikum,

    During the year that I lived in Saudi Arabia I was the woman in the center photo, last row. And to be honest…my experience wearing niqab was one of the most liberating of my life. I never imagined in a million years the feelings that would sweep through me the first time I went outside wearing it. Finally I was free.

    Yes. Finally I was free.

    No. I do not wear it now; I stopped wearing it about three months after I returned from Saudi Arabia to the United Stated, primarily because I had to work. But not because I didn’t like it, understand it, or was uncomfortable in it. I loved it.

    Ma’Salaama,
    Aishah

Leave a Reply

